Materials Quotes 010

Wolfgang Pauli once claimed ” God created the volume but the surface was invented by the devil”. Fortunately or unfortunately these surfaces are what we engineer today to strengthen or weaken the materials suiting our needs!!!

About Hari Srinivas

I am a PhD student with a major in materials science. My research interests are thin films fabrication for spintronics applications, magnetic materials, TEM, X-ray diffraction.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Materials Quotes 010

  1. Abi says:

    Good one!

    I found at least three other versions:

    “God made the bulk; the surface was invented by the devil.”

    “God made the solid; the surface was invented by the devil.”

    “God created matter; the surfaces were invented by the devil.”

    All of them are great!

  2. Hari Srinivas says:

    Dear Abi, thanks for the comment. But, I was unable to add a picture of Pauli from my flickr account. I don’t know why…I tried to paste the link directly but in vain.

Comments are closed.