A theme change, a header image contest, and a couple of announcements

I am trying out a brand new theme called Vigilance that has just been made available. I like pretty much everything about it, except perhaps the font (I prefer Verdana or some such ‘fat’ sans-serif). More importantly, I like its clean look.

Let me know if you disagree with my choice, and would rather have the old look back. If there’s a lot of people voting that way, I’ll be happy to go back.

In any case, irrespective of whether we go with this theme or the previous one (called Tarski), I think it’s high time this blog had a nice header image. Perhaps we can have Materialia Indica‘s first contest for designing the header image? What do you think?

* * *

Let me now turn to a couple of announcements:

I’m moving the Welcome to Materialia Indica post that was made sticky so it stayed right on top of the blog, it its rightful place: the archives. From now on, the latest blog post is what will greet the visitors.

The other announcement is about how well the blog has been doing. Since the official launch eleven days ago, we have had over 2100 visits arriving here (many of whom are likely repeat visitors). On two different days, we exceeded 300 visits, and on the other days, the number has been fluctuating between 110 and 150 visitors. These numbers are wonderful and very, very gratifying. To me, they also indicate that we have done the right thing in starting this blog.

About Abi

My name is T. A. Abinandanan, and I am a professor of Materials Engineering at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A theme change, a header image contest, and a couple of announcements

  1. Abi, the change of the fonts for heading as well the text looks better. Now I can read the material without straining the eyes.

    As for the number of visits, they will steadily increase over time. I came to know about this blog couple of weeks ago from a fellow IIScian in London. To me, this blog has been a way to stay connected to Materials Science @ IISc, the place which laid the foundations of my career in research.

  2. Vikas Gupta says:

    The best themes for your purpose apart from Vigilance are Cutline, Pressrow, and The Journalist (slightly boring).

    Vigilance has enticed many and I am not surprised it found another high-profile convert!

    For all WP blogging help you may visit htttp://onecoolsite.wordpress.com which is run by a Canadian woman despite her serious injury (non-profit basis). She is always helping others.

    You can put a sticky note below the header about the contest. This theme has an option for sticky notes. See it in action on One Cool Site.

  3. Chirag says:

    Hey Folks, Vikas, directed me here. I do header design for fun 🙂 you can visit my blog obviously, check out my designs.

Comments are closed.