Zuihitsu?

I confess: I needed to look that one up. Here’s the Wikipedia entry on Zuihitsu:

Zuihitsu … is a genre of Japanese literature consisting of loosely connected personal essays and fragmented ideas that typically respond to the author’s surroundings.

* * *

Let me take this opportunity to welcome my friend and colleague (now, fellow blogger!) Prof. S. Ranganathan to Materialia Indica. He’s blogging here under the name Gargeya (this could change if he changes his user settings). His zuihitsu gives us a glimplse into some of the things he’s thinking about: history of metallurgical and materials sciences, metallurgical and materials heritage of India, and archaeometallurgy.

We can look forward to great posts with ideas not just in archaeometallurgy and history of materials science, but also in grain boundaries, quasicrystals, bulk metallic glasses, … All from the unique point of view of a man who has had a hand in shaping those ideas.

About Abi

My name is T. A. Abinandanan, and I am a professor of Materials Engineering at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.