Fractal Crystal

Guess what appears on my Google Reader’s stream within a couple of days after Jaya wrote about James Gleick’s Chaos and I posted a quote from Erwin Schrödinger about how “plain and dull” periodic crystals are (when compared to aperiodic ones)? A fabulous piece of art by Robert Fathauer, Hank Kaczmarski and Nicholas Duchnowski entitled Fractal crystal, which made an appearance in a conference on mathematics and art.

Here it is:

FathauerKaczmarski1

A bit of googling led me to some more details, and a real 3D model. More importantly, it led me to this fascinating video of how this fractal crystal gets constructed (I found it on this page, from which a hi-res version can be downloaded). It’s absolutely fascinating. Watch:

About Abi

My name is T. A. Abinandanan, and I am a professor of Materials Engineering at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
This entry was posted in General, Web Resource and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fractal Crystal

  1. Pingback: After the fractal crystal … « Materialia Indica

Comments are closed.